You might have a mental checklist of everything that needs to be done after a car crash. You take pictures, exchange insurance information, go to the doctor, and call your insurance company. Those are all essential steps, but this checklist is missing the most crucial piece of evidence, a police report.
Why should you file a police report after a crash? Allow us to explain.
A police report is the best piece of evidence you can have after a car crash. Just as a medical report verifies that your injuries are the result of a crash, a police report verifies that there was a crash in the first place.
A police report serves as an unbiased public document explaining where the crash occurred, what vehicles were involved, and who was involved. It may also include witness testimony from bystanders, which can be invaluable in proving who was at fault. A police report is usually the first thing your attorney will ask for and the surest way to prove your claim to the insurance companies.
Reporting a crash isn’t just good for your case; it’s often required by law. In Missouri, you are required to file a police report if your crash either causes more than $500 in property damage or if anyone was seriously hurt or even killed.
Although the law allows you to file a report up to 30 days after the crash, it’s always better to get the report as soon as possible. When you request a police officer from the scene, the responding officer has an opportunity to survey the crash themselves, examine the damages, speak to any nearby witnesses, and verify the other driver’s information.
If you or someone you love suffered serious injuries in a car crash, we are here for you. If you’d like an experienced Missouri personal injury attorney from Kolker Law Firm to evaluate your case, please send us an email or call (314) 684-8285.