Am I Required to Report My Accident?
The Missouri Department of Transportation is adamant about holding people accountable for crashes. This means that anyone who gets into a car accident in Missouri may be required to report it to the police if it meets certain requirements. As of 2021, there are three main accidents you must report.
Accidents Involving Uninsured Motorists
To file a report for an accident involving uninsured motorists, the Missouri Department of Revenue also requires that your accident have occurred within the last 12 months. Uninsured motorists involved in crashes may receive additional penalizations for this reason.
Property Damage Over $500
Property damage in any capacity - another’s car, a building, or other damages - are required to be reported to the police. In these reports, you must outline the circumstances surrounding the accident, as well as a proof of insurance.
Injury or Death
Like most other states, any accident in which someone was injured or died is legally required to be reported to the police. If one does not report these accidents, they could be charged with failure to report, a hit and run, or negligence and receive legal consequences including:
- License suspension.
- Fines up to $10,000.
- Anything from a misdemeanor to a felony charge, depending on the injury severity.
To avoid these severe consequences, it is always best to stay at the scene following an accident.
How Do I Report My Accident?
If you choose to not file a report with the police at the scene, you can still do so by visiting the Missouri Department of Revenue website to obtain a copy of a Form 1140. It will outline the specifics of reporting your accident and any information you may need to obtain to complete it. You can learn more information about filing your report here.
Should you need an attorney for any reason following an accident, it is always best to hire one with a proven track record of car accident claim success. Kolker Law Firm is available when you need us most and provides free initial consultations with our attorneys. Call (314) 684-8285 to schedule your appointment today.